Making news

HCM City, Da Nang, Thua Thien-Hue welcome first tourists in 2022

National flag carrier Vietnam Airlines on January 1 coordinated with authorities of Ho Chi Minh City, Da Nang city and Thua Thien - Hue province to hold ceremonies to welcome the first tourists to the localities.

The airline said the first visitors to HCM City and Thua Thien-Hue departed from Hanoi, while those to Da Nang boarded a flight from HCM City.

The events were parts of a cooperation programme between Vietnam Airlines and the municipal and provincial People’s Committees.

Member carriers of Vietnam Airlines Group are planning to resume 10 more domestic air routes from January 2022, raising the number of such routes to nearly 50.
The group, comprising Vietnam Airlines, Pacific Airlines, and VASCO, will reopen the routes connecting Ho Chi Minh City with Quang Ninh province; Hai Phong city with Da Lat, Buon Ma Thuot, and Nha Trang cities; Thanh Hoa province with Buon Ma Thuot and Da Lat; Vinh city with Buon Ma Thuot, Nha Trang, and Da Lat; and Hue city with Da Lat.
The routes are scheduled to resume from January 16, with three to four flights per week each.
The carriers will also increase the flight frequency on many routes to an average of about 300 one-way flights per day in total.

Vietnam Airlines is also planning to resume regular international flights linking Vietnam with 15 countries and territories in the first half of 2022. The resumption will be carried out in two phases and depend on relevant agencies’ approval.

In the first phase, scheduled to begin on January 1 and last for about two weeks, the national flag carrier will conduct round-trip flights between Vietnam and the US, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Taiwan (China), Singapore, Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia.

Each route will have one to four flights per week, and the frequency will gradually increase basing on passengers’ demand and anti-pandemic requirements.

Meanwhile, the firm is set to reopen air routes connecting the country with the UK, France, Germany, Russia, Australia, Hong Kong (China), and Malaysia in the second phase./.