Making news

Eleven more national special relic sites named

Eleven places of huge cultural and historical value have been recognised as national special relic sites under Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc’s Decision 1820/QD-TTg

This is the ninth batch of national special relic sites that gained recognition this year. The newly recognised sites include Nhan (Swallow) tower- a unique symbol of the Cham’s architectural art in Tuy Hoa city, Phu Yen province; Thai Lac pagoda in Van Lam district, Hung Yen province; and Le Hoan temple in Tho Xuan district, Thanh Hoa province.

Tuong Phieu communal house in Phuc Tho district, Hanoi; Tho Tang communal house in Vinh Tuong district, Vinh Phuc province; and So communal house in Quoc Oai district, Hanoi are also in the list.

Next on the list are Dong Da Mound in Dong Da distric, Hanoi city, which reportedly witnessed fierce battles between Emperor Quang Trung’s soldiers and Chinese Qing troops 229 years ago; Buon Ma Thuot penitentiary in Buon Ma Thuot city, Dak Lak province; and Truong Son-Ho Chi Minh Trail running through Quang Binh, Quang Tri, Thua Thien-Hue, Quang Nam, Kon Tum and Binh Phuoc provinces.

The list also includes two scenic landscape sites: Ngu Hanh Son (Marble Mountain) in Ngu Hanh Son district, Da Nang city; and Na Hang-Lam Binh Nature Reserve in Na Hang and Lam Binh districts, Tuyen Quang province.

This new batch has raised the number of national special relic sites to 106, according to the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism’s Department of Cultural Heritage.