14/07/2015 09:54 GMT+7 Email Print Like 0

Asia-Pacific nations continue RCEP negotiations

Hanoi, July 13 (VNA) – Sixteen Asia-Pacific nations started a new round of negotiations for the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on July 13 to eliminate import duties.

Present at the event were ministers and representatives from ten ASEAN member states, Australia, New Zealand, China, Japan, the Republic of Korea and India.

The countries have been struggling to reach consensus on the reduction or elimination of import duties given their respective diverse economic development.

Another ministerial meeting will take place this August to speed up the RCEP.