12/07/2019 11:17 GMT+7 Email Print Like 0

Charming French architecture in Saigon

The splendid city of Saigon is home to century-old architectural structures of French classic style, which are major tourist attractions in the city.
For over 300 years of growth, Saigon, now Ho Chi Minh City, has become the country’s biggest economic hub. But the bustling modern city still has quiet corners and streets where ancient French architectural works exist, being appealing destinations for visitors wishing to explore the history of this beautiful city, once called “Pearl of the Far East”. 


 Designed by architect J. Bourard, the Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica of Saigon was built from 1877 to 1880.
All the building materials were imported from France. Its facade was built with a special type of brick from Toulouse
which are dust- and moss-resistant and thus keep their original color. Photo: Ba Ngoc



 Located on Dong Khoi road, district 1, the Municipal Theater of Ho Chi Minh City was built from 1898 to 1900.
The theater was refurbished in 1998 but its original architecture was kept, being an attractive destination of the city. Photo: Ba Ngoc



 Saigon Railway Transport Company Limited’s headquarters on Ham Nghi street, district 1
used to be the ticket counter of the Indochina railway company. Photo: Ba Ngoc



 The Saigon Central Post Office is located opposite the Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica of Saigon in district 1.
Designed by French architect Villedieu and his assistant Foulhoux, the post office was constructed between 1886-1891,
and is a tourist attraction of the city. Photo: Ba Ngoc



The office of the Ho Chi Minh City People Committee on Le Thanh Ton street, district 1
is one of the city’s most popular old architectural structures. Built from 1898 to 1909,
the building was designed by French architect Femand Gardes after the model of belfries in northern France. Photo: Ba Ngoc



The Museum of Vietnamese History located at No.2, Nguyen Binh Khiem street, district 1 was designed by French architect Delaval,
and constructed from 1926 to 1928. The museum displays nearly 30,000 objects and 25,000 documents
and books on archaeology, ethnology, histology and museology. Photo: Ba Ngoc
 
By Ba Ngoc