Making news

Joint Statement on CLV development triangle cooperation signed

The Prime Ministers of Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia signed a Joint Statement on the Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam (CLV) Development Triangle Area cooperation at the end of the CLV-10 Summit in Hanoi on March 31.

The Joint Statement affirms the three countries’ determination to build a CLV region with sustainable and inclusive development.

The Summit reviewed the implementation of the Master Plan for Socio-Economic Development of the CLV Development Triangle Area for 2010-2020 and discussed cooperation orientations in the coming time.

The leaders acknowledged progresses in the trio’s cooperation in various fields, ranging from infrastructure to trade facilitation, stressing the importance of the CLV collaboration in maintaining the peaceful and stable environment in the region and supporting the socio-economic development of each country as well as helping the 13 border countries to narrow their development gaps.

Regarding cooperation orientations in the coming time, the leaders affirmed their commitment to further fostering the comprehensive cooperation between the three nations, contributing to building the CLV economies of integration, sustainable and prosperous development, and forming an indispensable part of the ASEAN Community Vision by 2025.

They emphasised the need to enhance connectivity among the three economies to help them improve economic competitiveness, engage more effectively in regional and international value chains and respond to common challenges.

Based on the proposal of Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc, the Summit agreed to gradually expand the CLV cooperation to the entire three nations, yet only the 13 border provinces. To kick off this process, the leaders adopted a master plan on CLV connectivity by 2030, including major orientations to boost connections in infrastructure, insitution and economy, and people-to-people exchanges.

The CLV Development Triangle Area was established in 1999, covering Vietnam’s Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong provinces; Laos’ Sekong, Attapeu and Saravan provinces; and Cambodia’s Stung Treng, Rattanak Kiri, and Mondul Kiri.

In 2009, the three countries agreed to add Vietnam’s Binh Phuoc province, Cambodia’s Kratie province, and Laos’ Champasak province to the area. Its cooperation focuses on the fields of security, external affairs, transport, industry, agriculture, trade, investment and environmental protection.