03/01/2018 15:29 GMT+7 Email Print Like 0

Ten diseases qualify for free vaccination

Ten infectious diseases are entitled to compulsory vaccination under an expanded national vaccination programme (NEVP) that started on January 1.

This is regulated in a new circular signed by Minister of Health Nguyen Thi Kim Tien.

The diseases are Hepatitis B, tuberculosis, diphtheria, pertussis, tetanus, paralysis, Haemophilus influenzae type b, measles, Japanese encephalitis B, and rubella.

Two vaccines are required for newborns. Hepatitis B vaccination must be injected within the child’s first 24 hours and tuberculosis in the first month after birth.

The new list does not include cholera, as compared to the former regulation produced in 2011.

All children under five years will be injected with the 10 vaccines free of charge.

The Ministry of Health recommends that if children are not vaccinated on schedule, they must be immunised as soon as possible.

People who live or travel to epidemic areas are also entitled to compulsory vaccinations of eight contagious diseases, including: diphtheria, polio, pertussis, rubella, measles, cholera, Japanese encephalitis, and rabies.

Compared with the former regulation, the list has dropped 13 diseases, such as Hepatitis A, hepatitis B, tuberculosis, mumps, typhoid fever, chickenpox, tetanus, and Hib.