15/02/2016 14:58 GMT+7 Email Print Like 0

The 12th National Party Congress:
The Congress of Democracy and Renovation

After eight days, the 12th National Party Congress of the Communist Party of Vietnam successfully concluded in the morning of January 28, 2016. General Secretary of the 11th Party Central Committee Nguyen Phu Trong was re-elected General Secretary of the 12th Party Central Committee.

Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong was re-elected unanimously in the 12th tenure. Photo: Trong Chinh/VNP
One thousand five hundred and ten official delegates, representing more than 4.5 million Party members nationwide attended the congress. The 12th Congress received 242 letters of congratulations from political parties, organisations, diplomacy delegations and international friends.

The congress showed the anonymity of spirit and iron determination of the whole Party, people and army in the future to reach the master target of “Boosting the building of a clean and strong Party, improving the Party’s leadership and combat capacity, building a strong political system, bringing into full play the aggregate strength of the whole nation and socialist democracy, pushing forward comprehensively and harmoniously the renewal process, developing economy rapidly and sustainably, striving to turn Vietnam into an industrialised country toward modernity, improving the spiritual and material life of the people, struggling resolutely and persistently in order to firmly safeguard the independence, sovereignty, unity and territorial integrity and to defend the Party, State, people and the Socialist system, maintaining an environment of peace and stability for national development, proactively and actively integrating into the world to develop the country, enhancing the position and prestige of Vietnam in the region and in the world”.

Panoramic view of the Congress. Photo: Trong Chinh/VNP

Delegates cast their votes on members of the 12th Party Central Committee. Photo: VNA 

Delegates vote by a show of hands for the 12th National Party Congress’s Resolution. Photo: Trong Chinh/VNP

Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong and members of the 12th Party Central Committee
present themselves before the congress. Photo: Trong Chinh/VNP

The congress elected a 200-member Party Central Committee, comprising 180 official and 20 alternate members.

The 12th Party Central Committee convened its first plenum to elect the Politburo, the Party General Secretary, the Secretariat and the Inspection Commission. The Party General Secretary in the 11th tenure, Nguyen Phu Trong, was re-elected unanimously as Party General Secretary in the 12th tenure.

The re-elected Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong delivered a speech to close the 12th  Party National Congress. In his speech, Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong affirmed that the 12th Party Centre Committee  will join the entire Party, people and army to continue upholding the fine traditions and valuable experience of the Party, strengthening the unity in will and actions, promoting innovation in thinking and creatively applying, developing Marxism-Leninism and Ho Chi Minh Thoughts, being consistent towards the goal of national independence and socialism, innovating methods and working style of the Party’s leading bodies from the central to the grassroots levels in a systematic, practical and democratic manner, as well as promoting close bonds with the people, completing all assigned tasks, and contributing to successful realisation of the Resolution of the 12th National Party Congress.

Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong called upon the Party, people and army as well as Vietnamese expatriates to uphold the values of patriotism, self-reliance and national unity to realise the congress’ resolution. This would help open a new development period for the country towards socialism.

Right after the closing session, Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong chairs an international press conference. 
Photo: Trong Chinh/VNP



                19 members of the 12th Politburo:
                        1. Nguyen Phu Trong (Party General Secretary)
                        2. Tran Dai Quang
                        3. Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan
                        4. Ngo Xuan Lich
                        5. To Lam
                        6. Nguyen Xuan Phuc
                        7. Nguyen Thien Nhan
                        8. Dinh The Huynh
                        9. Pham Minh Chinh
                        10. Tong Thi Phong
                        11. Vuong Dinh Hue
                        12. Tran Quoc Vuong (Chairman of the 12th Party Central Committee’s Commission for Inspection)
                        13. Pham Binh Minh
                        14. Truong Thi Mai
                        15. Truong Hoa Binh
                        16. Nguyen Van Binh
                        17.   Vo Van Thuong
                        18.   Dinh La Thang
                        19.   Hoang Trung Hai
                 3 members of the Secretariat:

                        01. Nguyen Hoa Binh 
                        02. Nguyen Van Nen
Luong Cuong

Story: Thanh Hoa - Photos: Trong Chinh, Thanh Hoa & VNA